Just Bought New King Ranch! - Ford F150 Diesel Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By kdjasper

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Just Bought New King Ranch!

Hi all. I have been driving my 2010 King Ranch for 8 years and 8 months, and today (Wed 11/21/18) was the last day I will ever drive it. Loved that truck, 5.4L Triton with 6-speed tranny with 3.55 gears and 171K miles on it. Mechanically, it was rock solid. Body wise, not so much from these Minnesota winters and the salted roads. I had rust happening just about everywhere, and the rocker panels were rusted through--every time I slammed the rear doors shut another chunk of rusted metal would drop to the running boards. KKB fair condition on dealer trade looked to be $7.4K-$10K. I knew they would have to put the truck to auction. The dealer I bought it new from only offered me $6K trade in, and wouldn't negotiate down any further on a new 2018 King Ranch (price is the price). So I went to another Ford dealer, and through negotiations I ended up getting a resulting trade in value of $8,799--let's just call it $8.8K, or $2.8K higher than the offer from the other dealer. Now here is the part you guys are going to love reading about...the first dealer was a 5.0L V8 with 3.31 gears, and the second dealer was a 3.0 PowerStroke with 3.55 gears. Both trucks had towing mirrors and 6.5" long bed that I was looking for. So, how is that diesel payback period looking since that I picked it up for $2.8K less than I could have got the V8!

I know I probably could have tried to sell my old truck to private party, but I have always traded in for piece of mind that I never have to worry how the new owner is getting by with my old truck. Also, with all the rust I had, I seriously think it may have been a long difficult process to sell it.