Diesel F150 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Noticed change in the filter cleaning process today.

A dimly lit screen that read Diesel Particulate Filter Status..... Cleaning displayed with an OK in the lower right corner of the box. I pressed ok and box went away.

Then I selected The screen to display the Diesel Particulate Filter Status and it said cleaning.

It no longer gave the percent of fill on the screen throughout the remaining Regen process :frown2: now I don’t know where it is in the process.

I HAVE NOT been back to the dealer or done any Forscan changes.

I did not have my phone with me to take pictures...

The only thing that I have done since the last regen is to correct the displayed MPG to what I actually calculate.

This is done without forescan.

So I am left believing a update was delivered to my truck through the onboard Cellular equipment that enables Hot Spot which I do not have enabled.

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tagging to see where this goes. This doesn't match any of my experiences yet. Interesting.
Forgot to say when I put the truck in park when I got home it said 15%.

I let it idle a while and it went down to 10%..... that seems normal.

I am definitely going to discuss with the dealer at my next oil change.

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
actually this thread already details my exact experience with the same thing,





I have not seen it since though.


https://www.dieself150forum.com/forum/193-2018-f150-diesel-general-discussion/2188-diesel-particulate-filter-regen-process.html
I remembered this thread but could not find it when I wanted to share my experience too

Just didn’t put in the right search I guess.

Anyway you were not imaging anything....I just hope it goes back the way it was on mine too...

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
399 Posts
So I am left believing a update was delivered to my truck through the onboard Cellular equipment that enables Hot Spot which I do not have enabled.

KR2018
Sometimes the "if it aint broke don't fix it" mentality makes sense. I am going to see about disabling that WiFi/Cellular capability in my truck to prevent Ford from pushing down unwanted future changes to my truck. My truck has been running great, so I do not want Ford to push down any updates to my truck over the air. If my truck throws a code then I will be into the shop for repair.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Sometimes the "if it aint broke don't fix it" mentality makes sense. I am going to see about disabling that WiFi/Cellular capability in my truck to prevent Ford from pushing down unwanted future changes to my truck. My truck has been running great, so I do not want Ford to push down any updates to my truck over the air. If my truck throws a code then I will be into the shop for repair.

I would think anyone who has a tune on their truck would want to do the same.

The article on the Wind River company clearly states they can do updates to the ECM via OTA technology.

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Sometimes the "if it aint broke don't fix it" mentality makes sense. I am going to see about disabling that WiFi/Cellular capability in my truck to prevent Ford from pushing down unwanted future changes to my truck. My truck has been running great, so I do not want Ford to push down any updates to my truck over the air. If my truck throws a code then I will be into the shop for repair.
Looks like module APIM 7D0-02-03 deals with the modems.

I think WACM is WiFi, HCM is hotspot modem so it would deal with Cellular,

There are also other modems that deal with live traffic, etc. just below the above (WACM HCM) I don’t know what they do yet.

KR2018
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
438 Posts
I have seen a few references here and in other threads regarding Ford pushing ECM and/or PCM updates OTA (Over-The-Air via Cellular modem) w/o their knowledge.

Let me very clear here: Ford will not and Ford cannot push ECM or PCM updates to your vehicle via OTA Cellular modem or WiFi
= Your truck must be attached to a laptop in order for Ford to update ECM or PCM programming

I spoke with my dealership's Service Manager today and the only things that can be done OTA are:
1.) Sirius XM updates (done via their receiver via Satellite)
2.) Ford Sync Updates
a.) via OTA Cellular modem (if you have paid AT&T for WiFi connectivity)
b.) via a WiFi HotSpot on your cell phone
c.) via your home WiFi network (if you can park your vehicle close enough to your home/business)​

My Service Manager assured me their is no technical method in place today to push ECM or PCM updates to your vehicle automatically.
= I am not saying that isn't possible/feasible, but rather Ford has restricted this functionality and is not currently doing this
= I am also not saying that they may not do this in the future, but they are definitely not doing this now
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I have seen a few references here and in other threads regarding Ford pushing ECM and/or PCM updates OTA (Over-The-Air via Cellular modem) w/o their knowledge.

Let me very clear here: Ford will not and Ford cannot push ECM or PCM updates to your vehicle via OTA Cellular modem or WiFi
= Your truck must be attached to a laptop in order for Ford to update ECM or PCM programming

I spoke with my dealership's Service Manager today and the only things that can be done OTA are:
1.) Sirius XM updates (done via their receiver via Satellite)
2.) Ford Sync Updates
a.) via OTA Cellular modem (if you have paid AT&T for WiFi connectivity)
b.) via a WiFi HotSpot on your cell phone
c.) via your home WiFi network (if you can park your vehicle close enough to your home/business)​

My Service Manager assured me their is no technical method in place today to push ECM or PCM updates to your vehicle
automatically.
= I am not saying that isn't possible/feasible, but rather Ford has restricted this functionality and is not currently doing this
= I am also not saying that they may not do this in the future, but they are definitely not doing this now
I would share this article with your ford Service Manager and see what his comment is because it clearly states Ford is a new member and the article discusses ECM OTA update capability.


https://www.windriver.com/news/press/pr.html?ID=21668

KR 2018
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
766 Posts
OTA FordPass module updates only. THEY DO NOT PUSH ECM UPDATES!!! Period. End of story.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
I would say the compatibility is there to push over the air functionality updates to the onboard bus systems. I am not sure if Ford is or is not currently doing this. All I can say is my screen displayed like the OPs comments a DPF re gen in process message, is it an onboard hard clean where it only occurs out of so many regens I do not know. I do know that I saw the screen and a Forscan has never been attached to my truck, still have the bone jarring double honk which I hate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
OTA FordPass module updates only. THEY DO NOT PUSH ECM UPDATES!!! Period. End of story.
Ok,
Just some strange things going on in a few peoples trucks that has us wondering!

Probably just glitches!

I know the APIM is the Sync Module, that is where the modems are located.

It’s just that your laptop and phone have these same modems in them too and that is how program system and generic updates are delivered to them.

It is not impossible to do that with this technology as well.

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
OTA FordPass module updates only. THEY DO NOT PUSH ECM UPDATES!!! Period. End of story.
Some food for thought on this subject.

Modern day cars, just like computers get hacked.

When the computer or phone gets hacked the generic system owner puts out a security update to block the way the hackers discovered to close the vulnerable piece of software.

I believe that the car companies will be able to update their car’s computer generic via OTA technology.

Would the car company want it’s millions of cars to come back to a service department for a security update or would they want to update the millions of vehicles OTA in a few short hours or days???

We had a Hurricane here in Florida three years ago and the Tesla company updated all of their vehicles OTA here in Florida to give them the extended mileage capability on all the vehicles so they could all get out of Florida without having to stop and re-charge.

Believe me when I say if Ford cannot do something similar they are grossly negligent.

The more the car is able to self drive and brake automatically and remotely start and stop, the more it can be hacked...

I think it will be or already is a requirement to by the FCC to be able to do these updates.

I have heard, but no proof, that the CIA can disable almost any vehicle and lock the occupants inside the vehicle via OTA technology.

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #15

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
OTA FordPass module updates only. THEY DO NOT PUSH ECM UPDATES!!! Period. End of story.
https://www.windriver.com/news/press/pr.html?ID=21606&utm_source=Social&utm_campaign=Automotive-OTA-SLM-2018

This is something the Service Manager and technicians would not be associated with.

They can only load an entire new PCM update. This technology does line by line code update within the PCM module itself.

Just like in windows when you do a security update.

That is what I think they are doing now, testing the system on a few of us. Nothing that will disrupt the truck and goes away after one use (I hope).

They are changing lines of code and then backing out the update after one use...

KR2018
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Quote " This is something the Service Manager and technicians would not be associated with.

They can only load an entire new PCM update. This technology does line by line code update within the PCM module itself.

Just like in windows when you do a security update.

That is what I think they are doing now, testing the system on a few of us. Nothing that will disrupt the truck and goes away after one use (I hope).

They are changing lines of code and then backing out the update after one use... " end quote

I would very much doubt that, much too big a risk to take sending unsolicited updates/changes to a non-control audience. Liability could be HUGE if it had any unintended effects. If they were doing a Beta test they would likely use Fords own fleet vehicles where they already have access and can control the outcomes
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
766 Posts
Ok,
Just some strange things going on in a few peoples trucks that has us wondering!

Probably just glitches!

I know the APIM is the Sync Module, that is where the modems are located.

It’s just that your laptop and phone have these same modems in them too and that is how program system and generic updates are delivered to them.

It is not impossible to do that with this technology as well.

KR2018
The APIM does not contain the modem, the Smart Data Link module does, and only select trucks have it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
The APIM does not contain the modem, the Smart Data Link module does, and only select trucks have it.
The smart data link module is a plug in to the ODBII Port. The modems are part of the sync 3 best I can tell because that is what I have, so I would say if you have a sync-3 system you have the modems.

https://parts.ford.com/shop/en/us/other-electrical-related-parts/module-smart-data-link-7822557-1


Let’s not argue about this and try to figure out how it all works together.

KR2018
 
1 - 20 of 66 Posts
Top